FYI, Vegetarians are not vegans. The 2 are often confused. Vegetarians eat animal products such as (certain) dairy whereas Vegans eat zero animal products. We all choose our own diet and decide what we want to put in our mouths. If it means eating cheese, eggs, fish and/or yogurt then so what? Everything in moderation. Changes happen overtime not overnight. See the details below of the different types of Vegetarians.
Side note: If all this information is familiar to you or you just don’t care for “labels”, skip this!
Types of unique Vegetarians
VEGETARIAN: Vegetarians are herbivores who feed on plants. Vegetarian is a GENERAL term used to describe a person whose diet does not include meat, poultry, fish or seafood.
PESCATARIAN: A vegetarian may choose to consume fish but refrain from consuming meat such as beef, pork, etc. including (or excluding) dairy products and eggs.
SEMI-VEGETARIAN: A vegetarian may choose to consume chicken and fish but refrain from consuming meat such as beef, pork, etc. including (or excluding) dairy products and eggs.
OVO-LACTO-VEGETARIAN: Ovo-Lacto-Vegetarian (the most common) is an individual who does not consume Meat, Poultry, Fish, or Seafood but whose diet includes eggs, Milk and Butter.
OVO-VEGETARIAN: OVO-Vegetarian is a term used to describe a person who eats eggs but no other animal product.
LACTO VEGETARIAN: A Lacto consumes diary but no other animal product.
VEGAN: The sternest sub-category under the vegetarian blanket. Vegans do not consume any animal flesh or products and by-products. The vegan diet strictly consist of vegetables, fruits grains and legumes.